Multilingual practice

ECHA publishes the majority of its web content and of its public documents (such as guidance, practical guides, fact sheets,  IT manuals, information leaflets as well as its decisions of general application in all official EU languages. It does not translate news items, frequently updated web content, and information from databases or complex pieces of regulatory scientific guidance.

Translations are accessible on this website by changing the default language in the dropdown menu present in the top-right corner of each page. The document library also provides an easy access to the translated documents, which can be sorted by type or category.

ECHA's documents and web pages are translated by the Translation Centre for the Bodies of the European Union, which is located in Luxembourg and provides translation services to all EU agencies.

ECHA's individual decisions and other requests related to the information provided in or with the registration dossiers are issued in the language of the dossier, in accordance with the Language Regulation (Regulation No. 1 of 1958, as subsequently amended). Exceptionally and where its resources allow, ECHA may on request provide courtesy translations of such communication.

The official languages of the EU are Bulgarian, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Estonian, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Hungarian, Irish, Italian, Latvian, Lithuanian, Maltese, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Slovak, Slovenian, Spanish and Swedish.

Categories Display

Tagged as:

(click the tag to search for relevant content)