



# **Appointment of Committee members**

47th meeting of the Management Board 28-29 September 2017

## **Proposal**

The Management Board is invited to appoint four candidates for the Committee for Risk Assessment (RAC).

If the Management Board appoints these members, RAC will have 54 members (including four co-opted members).

### **Background**

Each Member State may nominate candidates to membership of RAC and SEAC. The Executive Director is required to establish a list of nominees, which is published on the ECHA website. The Management Board shall appoint the members of the Committee from this list, including at least one member but no more than two from the nominees of each Member State. Members shall be appointed for their experience in performing the tasks specified in the REACH Regulation. Further, the membership of Committee members appointed for a term of three years shall be renewable. In order to safeguard the independence, integrity and credibility of the Committees, Member States were asked to make their nominations in accordance with the eligibility criteria adopted by the Management Board at its 31st Meeting on 26-27 September 2013.

A letter dated 6 April 2017 was sent by the Secretariat to those Member State Permanent Representations which are due to (re-)nominate candidates for membership of RAC and SEAC.

Member States were asked for written commitment (see nomination forms attached) to provide adequate scientific and technical resources to the nominated member and to enable him/her to use at least half of his/her working time for this task. Commitment to provide such support has been received from the Member States for all the nominees.

### **Rationale**

## New candidates for RAC membership

Four Member States have nominated the following new candidates:

### Belgium SÉBA Julie

The nominee Ms SÉBA Julie is employed as an expert in human toxicology at the FPS Public Health, Food Chain Safety & Environment in Brussels, Belgium. She is a scientific advisor on CLP and REACH authorisation and restriction dossiers and provides support on substances evaluation and manual screening. The expertise grid submitted to ECHA shows an in-depth knowledge of mutagenicity, genotoxicity and carcinogenicity in the field of human health. The expertise of the proposed nominee is in line with RAC needs and her declaration of interest does not raise any issues of concern, making her eligible for membership of the Committee. Ms SÉBA will replace the current Belgian RAC member.

### France GEOFFROY Laure

The nominee Ms GEOFFROY Laure is employed as an ecotoxicologist at the Institut National de l'Environnement industriel et des risques (INERIS) in France. She has in-depth knowledge of

ecotoxicology, environmental fate and behaviour, PBT/POP assessment and environmental exposure assessment. The expertise of the proposed nominee is in line with RAC needs and her declaration of interest does not raise any issues of concern, making her eligible for membership of the Committee. Ms GEOFFROY would be the second member nominated by France.

### **Bulgaria** KARADJOVA Irina

The nominee Prof. KARADJOVA is employed as Professor in Analytical Chemistry at the Faculty of Chemistry and Pharmacy of Sofia University "St Climint Ohridski". Prof Karadjova lectures in atomic spectrometry, analytical techniques and separation methods, in addition to ecotoxicity and environmental legislation. Her regulatory experience comes from the context of ECHA working group on bioelution, and from projects concerning priority substances under the Water Framework Directive. While there is little call for analytical chemical expertise in RAC per se, her experience gained from research focused on ecotoxicity, environmental exposure assessment, environmental fate and behaviour of chemicals, including degradation kinetics could be a useful addition to the Committee. Her declaration of interest does not raise any issues of concern, making her eligible for membership. Prof. KARADJOVA would be the second member nominated by Bulgaria.

#### **Sweden** BORG Daniel

The nominee Mr BORG Daniel is employed as a toxicologist/health risk assessor at the Swedish Chemicals Agency. Dr Borg has recent experience in the environmental and human health risk assessment of chemicals, also in reviewing regulatory dossiers. His PhD studied the tissue distribution of PFAS in rodents during different life-stages, i.e. a highly relevant topic for RAC. The expertise of the proposed nominee is in line with RAC needs and his declaration of interest does not raise any issues of concern, making him eligible for membership of the Committee. Mr BORG would be the second member nominated by Sweden and will replace Anne-Lee GUSTAFSON (1st January 2018).

## **Alternative options**

The Management Board could decide not to appoint a second member nominated by a given Member State. This would be contradictory to the requests made for nominating a 2<sup>nd</sup> member and detrimental to the efforts to strengthen the capacity of the Committees for coping with their high workload. No other candidates have been proposed and there are therefore no alternative candidates to appoint. The Secretariat will monitor the activity level of the appointed members to inform their potential renewal.

### **Drawbacks**

The only visible disadvantage of the proposal lies in the costs related to reimbursement of members. The benefits of the additional expertise outweigh these costs.

#### **Attachments:**

- Annex 1 Envisaged composition of RAC after the MB 47
- Annex 2 Support documents<sup>1</sup>\_GEOFFROY\_New\_FR\_RAC
- Annex 3 Support documents\_KARADJOVA\_New\_BG\_RAC
- Annex 4 Support documents BORG New SE RAC
- Annex 5 Support documents\_SEBA\_New\_BE\_RAC

For questions: <u>jukka.malm@echa.europa.eu</u> with copy to <u>mb-secretariat@echa.europa.eu</u>

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Support documents include nominee's (re-)nomination letter/email, nomination form, CV, declaration of interests (DoI) and expertise grid.

### Annex 1 - Envisaged composition of the Committee for Risk Assessment after the 28-29 September 2017 Management Board Meeting (MB-47)

	Nominated by	Nominee's name
1	Austria	HÖLZ Christine (to be replaced by LOSERT Annemarie in Dec. 2017)
2	Austria	KAPELARI Sonja
3	Belgium	SÉBA Julie
4	Bulgaria	CHANKOVA-PETROVA Stephka
5	Bulgaria	KARADJOVA Irina
6	Croatia	VARNAI Veda
7	Cyprus	AGAPIOU Agapios
8	Cyprus	ANDREOU Kostas
9	Czech Republic	MARTINEK Michal
10	Czech Republic	RUCKI Marian
11	Denmark	SOERENSEN Hammer Peter
12	Denmark	TOBIASSEN Lea Stine
13	Estonia	SCHLÜTER Urs
14	Finland	LEINONEN Riitta
15	Finland	SANTONEN Tiina
16	France	PRINTEMPS Nathalie
17	France	GEOFFROY Laure
18	Germany	RUPPRICH Norbert
19	Germany	STAHLMANN Ralf
20	Greece	SPETSERIS Nikolaos
21	Greece	TSITSIMPIKOU Christina
22	Hungary	BIRO Anna
23	Hungary	GRUIZ Katalin
24	Iceland	HUSA Stine
25	Ireland	MULLOOLY Yvonne
26	Ireland	MURRAY Brendan
27	Italy	AQUILINA Gabriele
28	Italy	PARIS Pietro KADIKIS Normunds
29 30	Latvia Lithuania	DUNAUSKIENE Lina
31	Lithuania	UŽOMECKAS ŽIIvinas
32	Luxembourg	MOELLER Ruth
33	Luxembourg	NEUMANN Michael
34	Netherlands	HAKKERT Betty
35	Netherlands	PRONK Marja
36	Norway	BJØRGE Christine
37	Poland	BARANSKI Boguslaw
38	Poland	CZERCZAK Slawomir
39	Portugal	CARVALHO João
40	Romania	BRANISTEANU Radu
41	Romania	ILIE Mihaela
42	Slovakia	POLAKOVICOVA Helena
43	Slovenia	MENARD Anja
44	Slovenia	SCHULTE Agnes
45	Spain	SOGORB Miguel A.
46	Spain	DE LA FLOR TEJERO Ignacio
47	Sweden	GUSTAFSON Anne-Lee (to be replaced by BORG Daniel in Jan 2018)
48	Sweden	LUND Bert-Ove
49	United Kingdom	DUNGEY Stephen
50	United Kingdom	SMITH Andrew
51	co-opted member	CHIURTU Elena
52	co-opted member	JANKOWSKA Elzbieta
53	co-opted member	VAN DER HAAR Rudolf
54	co-opted member	VIEGAS Susana