

MB/06/2017 final Helsinki, 30.3.2017 PUBLIC

Appointment of Committee Members

45th Meeting of the Management Board 30-31 March 2017

Proposal

The Management Board is invited to appoint candidates for the Committee for Risk Assessment (RAC) and the Committee for Socio-economic Analysis (SEAC) membership.

RAC

The Management Board appoints 2 new candidates (nominated by Cyprus and Italy). If the Management Board appoints these members, RAC will have 52 members (including 4 co-opted members).

SEAC

The Management Board appoints 1 new candidate (nominated by Cyprus). If the Management Board appoints this member, SEAC will have 40 members (including 3 co-opted members).

Background

Each Member State may nominate candidates to membership of RAC and SEAC. The Executive Director is required to establish a list of nominees, which is published on the ECHA website. The Management Board shall appoint the members of the Committee from this list, including at least one member but no more than two from the nominees of each Member State. Members shall be appointed for their experience in performing the tasks specified in the REACH Regulation. Further, the membership of Committee members appointed for a term of three years shall be renewable. In order to safeguard the independence, integrity and credibility of the Committees, Member States were asked to make their nominations in accordance with the eligibility criteria adopted by the Management Board at its 31st Meeting on 26-27 September 2013.

A letter dated 13 September 2016 was sent by the Secretariat to those Member State Permanent Representations which are due to (re-)nominate candidates to membership of RAC and SEAC.

Member States were asked for written commitment (see nomination form attached) to provide adequate scientific and technical resources to the nominated member and to enable him/her to use at least half of his/her working time for this task. Commitment to provide such support has been received from the Member State for the nominees.

Rationale

New candidates for RAC membership

Two Member States have nominated the following new candidates:

Italy RUBBIANI Maristella

The nominee Maristella Rubbiani is currently employed as Head of Unit "Hazard evaluation of preparation and mixtures" at the Chemical Safety Centre (ISS) in Rome. Her main field of expertise is related to regulatory risk management and requirements of REACH. The expertise of the proposed nominee is in line with the RAC needs and her declaration of interest does not raise any issues of concern, making her eligible for membership of the Committee. She will replace Paola DI PROSPERO FANGHELLA when her mandate ends on 21 April 2017.

Cyprus AGAPIOU Agapios

The nominee Agapios Agapiou is currently employed as a Lecturer at the University of Cyprus, Department of Chemistry. His main field of expertise is related to analytical chemistry, biomonitoring, occupational health and exposure of humans via the environment, environmental monitoring and exposure assessment. The expertise of the proposed nominee is in line with the RAC needs and his declaration of interest does not raise any issues of concern, making him eligible for membership of the Committee.

New candidate for SEAC membership

One Member State has nominated the following new candidate:

Cyprus ANASTASIOU Christos

The nominee Christos Anastasiou is currently employed as an Associate Professor at the Departement of Civil Engineering at the Frederick University in Nicosia, Cyprus. His main field of expertise lies in the field of Environmental Engineering. Furthermore, he has in-depth expertise in assessing effects on the environment of proposed actions, risk management measures and related socio-economic consequences. The expertise of the proposed nominee is in line with the SEAC needs and his declaration of interest does not raise any issues of concern, making him eligible for membership of the Committee.

Alternative options

The Management Board could decide not to appoint a second member nominated by a given Member State. This would be contradictory to the requests made for nominating a 2nd member and detrimental to the efforts to strengthen the capacity of the Committees for coping with their high workload. No other candidates have been proposed and there are therefore no alternative candidates to appoint.

Drawbacks

The only visible disadvantage of the proposal lies in the costs related to reimbursement of members. The benefits of the additional expertise outweigh these costs by far.

Attachments:

- Annex 1 Envisaged composition of RAC and SEAC after the MB 45
- Annex 2 Support documents¹_RUBBIANI Maria_New_IT_RAC
- Annex 3 Support documents_AGAPIOU_Agapios_New_CY_RAC
- Annex 4 Support documents_ANASTASIOU_Christos_New_CY_SEAC

For questions: jukka.malm@echa.europa.eu with copy to mb-secretariat@echa.europa.eu

^{2 (4)}

¹ Support documents include nominee's (re-)nomination letter/email, nomination form, CV, declaration of interests (DoI) and expertise grid.

Annex 1a - Envisaged composition of the Committee for Risk Assessment (RAC)
after the 30-31 March 2017 Management Board Meeting (MB-45)

	Nominated by	Nominee's name
1	Austria	HÖLZ Christine
2	Austria	KAPELARI Sonja
3	Belgium	LECLOUX Hélène
4	Bulgaria	CHANKOVA-PETROVA Stephka
5	Croatia	VARNAI Veda
6	Cyprus	ANDREOU Kostas
0 7	Cyprus	AGAPIOU Agapios
8	Czech Republic	MARTINEK Michal
9	Czech Republic	RUCKI Marian
10	Denmark	SOERENSEN Hammer Peter
11	Denmark	TOBIASSEN Lea Stine
12	Estonia	SCHLÜTER Urs
13	Finland	LEINONEN Riitta
14	Finland	SANTONEN Tiina
15	France	PRINTEMPS Nathalie
16	Germany	RUPPRICH Norbert
17	Germany	STAHLMANN Ralf
18	Greece	SPETSERIS Nikolaos
19	Greece	TSITSIMPIKOU Christina
20	Hungary	BIRO Anna
21	Hungary	GRUIZ Katalin
22	Iceland	HUSA Stine
23	Ireland	MULLOOLY Yvonne
24	Ireland	MURRAY Brendan
25	Italy	DI PROSPERO FANGHELLA Paola replaced by RUBBIANI
		Maristella (from 21.4.2017)
26	Italy	PARIS Pietro
27	Latvia	KADIKIS Normunds
28	Lithuania	DUNAUSKIENE Lina
29	Lithuania	UŽOMECKAS Žilvinas
30	Luxembourg	MOELLER Ruth
31	Luxembourg	NEUMANN Michael
32	Netherlands	HAKKERT Betty
33	Netherlands	PRONK Marja
34	Norway	BJØRGE Christine
35	Poland	BARANSKI Boguslaw
36	Poland	
37	Portugal	CARVALHO João BRANISTEANU Radu
38 39	Romania Romania	ILIE Mihaela
39 40	Slovakia	POLAKOVICOVA Helena
40 41	Slovenia	MENARD Anja
41	Slovenia	SCHULTE Agnes
43	Spain	SOGORB Miguel A.
44	Spain	DE LA FLOR TEJERO Ignacio
45	Sweden	GUSTAFSON Anne-Lee
46	Sweden	LUND Bert-Ove
47	United Kingdom	DUNGEY Stephen
48	United Kingdom	SMITH Andrew
49	co-opted member	CHIURTU Elena

50	co-opted member	JANKOWSKA Elzbieta
51	co-opted member	VAN DER HAAR Rudolf
52	co-opted member	VIEGAS Susana

Annex 1b - Envisaged composition of the Committee for Socio-economic Analysis after the 30-31 March 2017 Management Board Meeting (MB-45)

	Nominated by	Nominee's name
1	Austria	FANKHAUSER Simone
2	Austria	KNOFLACH Georg
3	Belgium	COGEN Simon
4	Belgium	DELCOURT Benjamin
5	Bulgaria	STOYANOVA-LAZAROVA Elina Velinova
6	Croatia	KAJIĆ Silva
7	Cyprus	ANASTASIOU Christos
8	Cyprus	NICOLAIDES Leandros
9	Czech Republic	PÍŠKOVÁ Martina
10	Denmark	FOCK Lars
11	Estonia	LÜDEKE Andreas
12	Finland	KIISKI Johanna
13	France	BRIGNON Jean-Marc
14	France	FIORE-TARDIEU Karine
15	Germany	URBAN Klaus
16	Germany	THIELE Karen
17	Hungary	SCHUCHTÁR Endre
18	Italy	CASTELLI Stefano
19	Italy	CAVALIERI Luisa
20	Latvia	BERGS Ivars
	Latvia	LOČS Jãnis
	Lithuania	GOLOVACIOVA Ilona
	Lithuania	SMILGIUS Tomas
	Netherlands	LUIT Richard
	Netherlands	JANSSEN Martinus
26	Norway	SLETTEN Thea Marcelia
27	Poland	RYDLEWSKA-LISZKOWSKA Izabela
28	Portugal	ALEXANDRE João
29	Romania	OLTEANU Maria
30	Romania	ZAMFIR Adrian Stefan
	Slovenia	FURLAN Janez
	Slovenia	KRAJNC Karmen
33	Spain	NARROS Adolfo
34	Sweden	NORING Maria
35	Sweden	THORS Åsa
36	United Kingdom	DOUGHERTY Gary
37	United Kingdom	GEORGIOU Stavros
38	co-opted member	JONES Derrick
39	co-opted member	DRAKE Lars
40	co-opted member	CSERGO Robert